Listening Hearts – Book Review

Listening Hearts is a book on how to listen to God’s call and being able to discern his voice. I got this book because a few months I was meeting with a spiritual director I was telling them how I struggle with being able to trust God.  I have a deep faith but I don’t know that I really trust God and I don’t know that I have ever had to. Here is what I mean by that. I have never been in a position where I was hungry, broke, homeless, etc. I mean at the end of the day I have never been in a place where I had to rely on God because there was no alternative. Because of this I often trust in my self.

I want you to think about this. When was the last time your church or family got together and prayed that God would lead you and help you know what he wants for your life. Most times we tell God our plans and ask him to bless them. I do this in most areas of my life. God I am doing this bless it. God I don’t know what to do I think I am going this route bless it. I want to lean into God’s call and let him direct my paths instead of me always directing my paths. I want this for my personal life and ministry life.

So my spiritual director recommended that I get this book. So I read it and it was good. Not great but good. It is an easy read and you could read it in a day but I read a chapter ever other day to let it soak in. The best part of the book is appendix 2. This may be the first time I tell someone the appendix of the book was great. Appendix 2 is questions that we can ask ourselves or others as we try to see where God is leading and calling us.

Psalm 143:10  Teach me to do your will, for you are my God. May your gracious Spirit lead me forward on a firm footing.

Leave a Reply

