Visiting Churches – Part 3

This is the last post of reflections I have on our recent trip. On Sunday morning we went to a service that I really enjoyed. The song service was great, the minister had a great message, and even though it was 90 minutes it went by really fast. But the one thing I noticed was that the students in the room seemed dis-engaged.

My first thought was no matter where you go this remains the same. I couldn’t quit looking and being reminded of our students back home. The look of why am I here or I could really care less. Out of a section of 20 or more students setting in the corner I only saw one sing. The songs were contemporary not filled with thee or thou. The message was relevant. But there they were totally dis-engaged.

I couldn’t help but to think how do we connect students and engage them in the auditorium?

Leave a Reply

