Whose Story Are You In?

I was attending an event yesterday and Dr. Lavender at Lipscomb University made a comment about Matthew 16:25, “If you try to hang on to your life, you will lose it. But if you give up your life for my sake, you will save it.”

Dr. Lavender said that Jesus is telling us that if we try to discover our life by writing our own story or joining someone else’s story we will loose it. But if we decide to loose ourselves in God’s story then we will discover who we are and have the life Jesus promised.

I have been meditating on this thought today. What areas have I been trying to hang on to my life and to my story? Where have I accepted God’s grace and call to join his story? What would my life look like if I lost myself in God’s story and quit trying to star in mine?

Leave a Reply

