Book Review – NLT Shine Bible

The iShine Bible by Tyndale and the NLT was designed to

help tweens understand their Value, Identity, and Purpose (VIP). Tweens will see

  • how they are valued by God
  • how their identity is found in Jesus
  • and the purpose that they have because of this.

QR codes and URLs in the Bible link to videos on these topics and other online faith-building content. This compact Bible for tweens brings together the popular Christian tween brand iShine with the clearly understandable New Living Translation. The iShine Bible answers questions relating to many of the issues that tweens face with a tween-friendly index.

I was so excited about this Bible. I have been brainstorming ways to use QR codes and I knew one day a Bible would come to them. I imagined the QR codes that would link to maps, videos, commentary notes, devo thought, etc.

Unfortunately this Bible is not that. It has 3 QR codes and that is it. They are one for each of the VIP categories. I was disappointed with this. I love the NLT translation it is the one I recommend to everyone and give to our students. I keep 5 or more at all times to give away. The iShine Bible will not be one that I buy to give away. My hope is that this will be a test of what the QR code Bible could be.

This book was provided to me for review by Tyndale House Publishers for my honest review.

Leave a Reply

