Career Change in May 2012

We announced Sunday that I would be leaving Graymere and full time student ministry at the end of May 2012. Let me first clarify that I will be taking a leave from student ministry as a career but not altogether. I don’t think I could ever leave student ministry. I love students. I love camp and retreats. I love teaching classes. I love going to their ball games, I love being with them. But my passion for ministry as a whole has been dwindling and it is time to take a break.

The number one question people ask is what will you do next? I do not know. I am hoping God will let me in on that soon or at least before June. I have a few things that I would like to pursue and see where God leads me. Here are some of the things I have had an increasing passion growing inside me.

  1. Non-Profit Work with a Kingdom Vision – I have been blessed to work with the Timothy Hill Children’s Ranch, Penrickton Center for Blind Children, Ronald McDonald Charities, Kings Daughters, Safe Haven, and many more places like them. They inspire me. I believe they are doing the Lord’s work even if they are doing it for humanitarian reasons and not for the kingdom. I remember coming back from the Penrickton Center two years ago and telling Dana I want to do something like that one day. I would love to work with a place that wants to take care of those who are hurting. I believe that the church has advocated their role in helping people. We used to build schools, hospitals, orphanages, etc. and make long term change in people’s lives. Today many churches puts on band-aids to provide temporary help for long term problems.
  2. Providing a Need for the Church – As a member of the church of Christ we have no publishing house. Due to this resources designed for us is lacking and almost non-existent. This may or may not be a fulltime career but I have an interest in this.
  3. Work using my gifts and passion – This is a long list that is hard to articulate so I will not stammer with words here. But if the right place and company came along I would jump at it.

Over all I don’t feel as if I am burned out or done with ministry as a career. But a short break is needed. It has been 15 years since I went home for Easter, Mother’s day, or Father’s day. Many Thanksgiving and Christmas holidays were cut short to be back for church. This along with my passion dwindling makes for a time to step away.  But I will still be full time for another eight months and then I will enter in that student minister dream world called a volunteer.

4 responses to “Career Change in May 2012”

  1. David Knox says :

    i love you so much and hope you know how much you’ve been a friend and mentor to me. i’ll be praying for clarity of vision for you!

  2. Dale Jenkins says :

    Rusty, this is so very well said – excellent – just as you live your life. You continue to be in my prayers.

  3. lincolnstudents says :

    Brother, believe me I know what you are going through. I just want to say what an inspiration yo have been to me. Our church was in a despirate need for a youth minister and I volunteered to do it until they could find someone else. I had no idea what I was doing and the retreat you hosted was such a blessing for me to help me get started, stay motivated and love youth work. You an Dana are always in our prayers. I love the passion and talent you have shared with us. I know God will find just what you are looking for in your life. Please stay in touch. Love you man.

  4. Chris French says :

    I just wanted to let you know how much I’ve learned from you. My ministry has gotten better because of the things you’ve done. You’ll do great wherever He decides to lead you. God bless.

Leave a Reply

