Enemies of the Heart – Book Review

Enemies of the Heart is the same as It Came from Within. First I will say that I am very biased because Andy Stanley is my hero. I have a preacher crush on him.

There are four enemies of our heart: guilt, anger, jealously and greed.  Andy argues that these four are part of a debt and debtor relationship. Whenever you owe someone or someone owes you there is a tension that arises and it strains our relationship. These four enemies if left unchecked can bring on so much tension that it will destroy you and your relationships.

Guilt says, “I owe you”. You’ve got to pay that debt for your guilt to go away. Guilt is overcome by confession and repentance.

Anger says, “You owe me.” Anytime you are angry at someone you must determine what they took from you or what they owe you. It may be money, time, dignity, a childhood, etc.  Anger is overcome by forgiveness.

Greed says, “I owe me.” Greedy people think that they need and deserve everything. Greed can mask itself as a saver but soon exposes itself as always wanting more. Greed is overcome by generosity

Jealously says, “God owes me.” I’m not mad because the person I’m jealous of has what I’m jealous of. I’m mad that I don’t have it! So my problem isn’t with that person, my problem is with Go. To overcome jealousy I need to celebrate the person you’re jealous of.

I received this book for free from WaterBrook Multnomah Publishing Group for this review. The opinions I have expressed are my own.

Leave a Reply

