Life Application Study Bible Devotional – Book Review

Life Application Study Bible Devotional by Tyndale.

I am usually not a fan of devotional Bibles. As a general rule they are more about the devotional quip or story and less about the Bible. They are great for illustrations but not for learning more about God. I guess I find many devotional Bible’s a way to make people feel closer to God without having to listen to God. With that being said this one is better than most. Here is what I like about this one:

  1. The scripture is on each page on the outside edge. If I have a devo book I am placing it somewhere to read where I will not keep a Bible handy. I liked it being on the edge of the page as well.
  2. Each day’s devotional is a casual commentary on the scripture and not a cute story.
  3.  It has prayer prompts or suggestions for each day based on the reading.
  4. It has reflection questions based on the scripture and devotional.
  5. It has a chronological flow through the life of Christ.
  6. I am a fan of the NLT so bonus there.

This is a decent devotional Bible and by far better than most. One thing would have made this a great book for me: More scripture. Like most devo Bibles it may contain 1-5 verses per day on average. I would love to see that expanded. My original plan was to give this away after reviewing it but I have decided to keep it.

Tyndale House Publishers has provided me with a complimentary copy of this book in exchange for a review.

Leave a Reply

