Priceline Tips

If you travel and don’t use Priceline you are only robbing yourself. I can’t tell you how much money I have saved on travel for me and the youth group. One big thing to know is that when you buy on Priceline you will never know what type of room you will get (king or double) and there is nothing you can do but hope and ask to get the room type you want. I have had success and failure in this area.

Now here are some tips to help you save money.

  1. Go to www.betterbidding.com. Here people tell you what price and hotel they are getting. So you can look up Atlanta, GA and see what prices are being accepted.
  2. Spend time on Priceline and pick your city. Look and see what hotels are what star rating. So if you go to Atlanta you will see that there are 50 hotels with a 3.5 star rating or higher. Scan them real quick and see if these are hotels you want to stay in. Many cities will not have star ratings over 3. Then click on map view to see where they are. When you bid you will bid based on location area.
  3. Start off low based on your 1st choice location. Like zone one. I hate when my first bid is accepted.
  4. If rejected you have 2 choices. Wait 24 hours and bid again or add a new zone. Atlanta has 22 zones most cities will have 7 or less. I like to add a zone that doesn’t have a hotel for a star rating I want. This way I can raise my bid little by little.
  5. You don’t have to raise your bid by much even if it tells you for $X amount you can get this room now.
  6. Spend time playing around and you will get a great rate. My last trip we stayed at a 3.5 star Marriott in Atlanta for $65 including tax and fees. This room would have been ($193 with tax) otherwise.
  7. I have done this with our youth group on some trips when I needed a great rate. We stayed in Cincinnati for $52 total at a Courtyard Marriott. We had to do some creative rooming but it fit our budget and it was a small trip with just 20 students. I would not recommend this with a large group.
2 responses to “Priceline Tips”

  1. misa travel says :

    Enjoyed every bit of your blog.Really looking forward to read more. Really Cool.

  2. benjamin kerns says :

    thanks rusty for the fun tips. time to spend less time on priceline and more time blogging 🙂 hope all is well.

Leave a Reply

